DNN EXCLUSIVE: CM BS Yediyurappa allots portfolios to 10 new ministers: Ramesh Jarkiholi gets ‘Water Resources’, previously held by his bête noire DK Shivakumar in coalition government

Read Article



BENGALURU: Finally, Chief Minister BS Yediyurappa has allotted the cabinet portfolios to the newly inducted 10 ministers who were sworn in on February 6. DNN has managed to get an exclusive list of which portfolio goes to which minister.

After a hectic round of parleys between the new ministers and CM BS Yediyurappa, it seems like the Chief Minister has eventually cleared all hurdles and pacified every member. While expansion of the cabinet was one big challenge for CM BS Yediyurappa, allocation of portfolios posed an altogether new impediment since some new ministers were adamant on getting a specific portfolio of their choice. Highly placed sources within the state BJP revealed DNN that the portfolio allocation was not yet finalized till yesterday night when CM BS Yediyurappa was still busy pacifying some disgruntled ministers.

Today morning only, he was eventually successful in convincing some members to accept the portfolio as allocated now. The principal contention was from Ramesh Jarkiholi – MLA from Gokak in Belagavi, and Byrathi Basavaraj – MLA from KR Puram, Bengaluru – who wanted the portfolios of Water Resource and Bengaluru Urban Development respectively. Problems arose when some BJP old timers objected to giving powerful portfolios to these new ministers.

Sources also revealed with this reporter that CM BS Yediyurappa had an enervating experience in finally achieving consensus and bringing everyone on board. As it stands out, Ramesh Jarkiholi has successfully managed to get his much desired portfolio of Water Resources.

It may be recalled that this portfolio of Water Resources was earlier held by DK Shivakumar – a known bête noire of Ramesh Jarkiholi – in the coalition government of JDS and Congress. Now, there is an interesting story behind why Ramesh Jarkiholi so adamantly wanted this very portfolio. DNN will very soon expose the motives and real reasons for Ramesh Jarkiholi’s intransigent insistence in getting this very portfolio.

With this, CM BS Yediyurappa has now settled the cabinet matters in a very skillful way without letting anything spiral out of control and that should make him a much relieved man.




(1) Sri. ST Somashekar – Co-operative Department


(2) Sri. Ramesh Jarkiholi – Water Resources


(3) Sri. Anand Singh – Food and Civil Supplies


(4) Sri. Dr. K Sudhakar – Medical Education


(5) Sri. Byrathi Basavaraj – Urban Development


(6) Sri. A Shivaram Hebbar – Labour Department


(7) Sri. BC Patil – Forest Department


(8) Sri. K Gopalaiah – Small Industries and Sugar


(9) Sri. KC Narayana Gowda – Civic Administration & Horticulture


(10) Sri. Shrimant Balasaheb Patil – Textiles Department


New Minsters who were allotted cabinet portfolios on Monday



Earlier on Sunday, Chief minister BS Yediyurappa had reiterated that portfolios for all new ministers will be distributed on Monday and the exercise was not completed sooner only because of weekend holidays.

“I had completed all the formalities on the portfolio allocation,” Yediyurappa had said, rubbishing rumours that the delay was caused due to a tussle over portfolios. “However, considering it was a weekend, I decided to postpone handing them out. On Monday all portfolios will be announced.”, CM had said.

The CM had also promised to induct loyalists into his council of ministers, admitting Umesh Katti, Hukkeri legislator, should not have been left out. Speaking in Shivamogga earlier on Sunday, Yediyurappa had said Katti was scheduled to take oath last week along with the 10 defectors, but the decision was scrapped at the last minute due to “unavoidable reasons”. These “unavoidable reasons” point fingers at the internal opponents of CM BS Yediyurappa both in state and centre. However, CM had told: “But I have discussed the issue with Katti. Considering he is from North Karnataka and that we have worked together for many years, he will be included in the cabinet soon”.

Upon questioning on more prominent legislators from his own home district missing out from the cabinet — particularly Thirthalli Arag Jnanendra — the CM had said a “different responsibility” has been given to Thirthalli Arag Jnanendra and has already explained why he could not be inducted.

Now, there seems to be a fruition of CM BS Yediyurappa’s efforts in quelling all dissent and successfully bringing an acceptable cabinet expansion to everyone. However, when and how the CM will accommodate the party veterans would be another interesting aspect to watch out for.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

sixteen − 6 =